This is the "Home" page of the "Safer Internet Day / Digital Citizenship Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Safer Internet Day / Digital Citizenship Resources   Tags: cyberbullying, internet, online safety, safer internet day  

Lesson plans and other resources to help teachers provide instruction about Internet safety.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2017 URL: http://libguides.rcsdk12.org/SaferInternetDay Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Lesson Plans

  • Common Sense Education K-12 Digital Citizenship Program
    Includes lesson plans by grades and subject, videos, games, and assessments.
  • Digital Citizenship Education
    "This series of lessons teach key digital citizenship concepts. These lessons, for students in grades 4-6, are designed to engage students through inquiry-based, collaborative and creative activities."
  • Digital Passport by Common Sense Media
    Can create classrooms and keep track of students' performance. Includes games and videos. Requires free educator's account.
  • How to Teach Internet Safety to Younger Elementary Students
    "a sample lesson for teaching internet safety to students as young as kindergarten."
  • iKeepSafe
    Co-created by Google and iKeepSafe. Must create download form to access materials.
  • Kids Health in the Classroom
    "KidsHealth in the Classroom offers educators free health-related lesson plans for all grades and subject areas. Each Teacher's Guide includes discussion questions, activities, and reproducible handouts and quizzes – all aligned to national health education standards."
  • Netsmartz Workshop: A Program of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
    Includes Spanish presentations for grades K-5.

    "Empower your students to be safer online with our free collection of teaching materials for students in grades K-12. With videos, lesson plans, games and more, NetSmartz can help you create a dynamic and engaging Internet safety curriculum."
  • Play Like Share: Keeping 8-10s Safe Online
    "The CEOP (Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre) Command’s Thinkuknow programme provides resources, training and support for professionals who work directly with children and young people. "

    Requires free educator's account to download resources.
  • Safer Internet Day Website Lesson Plan 2017
    "This lesson is intended for use in elementary and middle schools and can be adapted for students ages
    7 – 12."
  • Teaching Digital Citizenship (Gr 4-8)
    "Cable Impacts brings you InCtrl, a series of free standards-based lessons, originally developed by Cable in the Classroom, that teach key digital citizenship concepts. These lessons, for students in grades 4-8, are designed to engage students through inquiry-based activities, and collaborative and creative opportunities."
  • The Internet and You: Curricular Materials for Educators (Grades 1–3)
    "Featuring Ruff Ruffman: Humble Media Genius from PBS, 'The Internet and You' provides interactive lesson plans about digital privacy, search engines, online advertising, and the creation of positive online experiences that can be used in schools, after-school programs, and beyond.

    "This free resource for educators, which includes worksheets kids can do at home with their parents or other caregivers, is now available thanks to generous support from the Digital Media and Learning (DML) Trust Challenge grant."

Games

  • PBS Webonauts Internet Academy Games
    "PBS Kids Go
    Home
    Parents
    Educators
    Credits
    About Webonauts Academy
    Webonauts Internet Academy is a web original game for PBS KIDS GO! that gives kids 8- to 10-year-old an opportunity to have some fun while exploring what it means to be a citizen in a web-infused‚ information-rich world. It is an engaging experience on its own but becomes all the more powerful when parents and teachers use game play as a springboard for conversations about media literacy and citizenship in the 21st Century."
  • Privacy Playground: The First Adventure of the 3 CyberPigs  
      
    "In this game, designed for ages 8-10, the CyberPigs play on their favourite website and encounter marketing ploys, spam and a close encounter with a not-too-friendly wolf."
  • Digital Passport by Common Sense Media
    Can create classrooms and keep track of students' performance. Also includes videos. Requires free educator's account.
  • Digital Compass by Common Sense Media
    "Now available in Spanish!
    Digital Compass is the only educational game that gives kids the freedom to explore how decisions made in their digital lives can impact their relationships and future."

    "Available for iPad, Android phone and tablet, and Chromebook."

    "Developed with middler schoolers in mind."
 

Interactive eBooks

"CyberSmarts: Staying Safe Online, a unique collection of five Interactive eBooks, gives students hands-on experience in navigating the online world in a safe, controlled environment."

Requires subscription to Rosen Learning Center. Ask librarian for password.

Educational Videos with Quiz/Game/Activities

  • abcya.com Cyber-Five Video and Assessment Quiz
    "Cyber-Five is a short animation which introduces children to five helpful rules to be safer on the internet. Join Hippo and Hedgehog as they introduce and review the five rules. There is a multiple choice quiz at the end of the animation for assessment. The Cyber 5 story concept is by Jillian Palmieri of www.bystander.us"
  • BrainPop Jr. Internet Safety (K-3)
    Includes quiz, activities, and games.
  • BrainPop Online Safety Video
    "Let Tim and Moby help you sort out the good from the bad as you learn some rules to keep you safe in this BrainPOP movie on online safety. Figure out how to keep your identity a secret, how to identify people who might not be a nice as they seem, and who can help you stay safe. You’ll also discover some rules that are good to follow both online and in life and what can happen if you break the World Wide Web code of conduct."
  • BrainPop Cyberbullying Video
    "You’ll learn about some of the different techniques online bullies use to get inside their victims’ heads. You’ll also find out what makes bullies tick, and how some of them may not even realize that they’re doing anything wrong. Finally, Tim will explain how to deal with these Internet pests, showing you different strategies for keeping your online experience pleasant and safe. It’s like a self-defense class for the world wide web!"
  • BrainPop Digital Etiquette Video
    "How can you fight online rudeness and help bring courtesy and respect back to the web? Start by watching this movie!"

Available in Spanish

  • Digital Compass by Common Sense Media
    "Now available in Spanish!
    Digital Compass is the only educational game that gives kids the freedom to explore how decisions made in their digital lives can impact their relationships and future."

    "Available for iPad, Android phone and tablet, and Chromebook."

    "Developed with middler schoolers in mind."
 

Discussion Starter for Grades 5 & up

"Dave is an extremely gifted clairvoyant who finds out specific financial information. This video reveals the magic behind the magic, making people aware of the fact that their entire life can be found online. And by doing so urging everybody to be vigilant." (Grade 5 and up)

 

Ages 8-10 Child Exploitation & Online Protection Video

This is an assembly from CEOPs Thinkuknow education programme that helps children to understand what constitutes personal information. The assembly enables children to understand that they need to be just as protective of their personal information online, as they are in the real world. It also directs where to go and what to do if children are worried about any of the issues covered.

For more information please visit: www.thinkuknow.co.uk

General Information

  • Safer Internet Day - RCSD IM&T eLearning Resource Page
    "A host of resources and quick lessons for teachers to use."
  • Safer Internet Day Website 2017
    "The theme for this year’s Safer Internet Day celebration is 'Be the change: Unite for a better internet.' We’re talking about expressions of kindness and positive social action, big or small, by people of all ages."
  • Digizen from Childnet International
    "The Digizen website provides information for educators, parents, carers, and young people. It is used to strengthen their awareness and understanding of what digital citizenship is and encourages users of technology to be and become responsible DIGItal citiZENS. It shares specific advice and resources on issues such as social networking and cyberbullying and how these relate to and affect their own and other people's online experiences and behaviours."

Contact

Profile Image
Carol Satta, Library Media Specialist
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., School #9
485 N. Clinton Ave.
Rochester, NY 14605
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip